As current and former members of the Emory Alumni Board or its predecessors the Alumni Council and the Board of Governors, we have had the opportunity to work closely with President Wagner over the span of his 9-year presidency. We know him to be a man of integrity and principle who continues to have our unwavering trust and full support as the leader of this university.

After several weeks of media attention and, more importantly, widespread campus dialogue, there is consensus that the 3/5 compromise reference was a misguided choice. Emory continues to be a community of passionate educators, students and alumni who have a vested interest in the collective goals and inherent beliefs of the university. All voices need to be heard, valued and respected.

To this end, we, as alumni, would like to lend our voice to the discussion. One article does not and should not define a person, his work or his legacy. President Wagner has sincerely apologized for the article and the pain, doubt and confusion that have ensued and we accept his apology. We have confidence in his leadership and in his commitment to diversity as an essential component of an ethically engaged learning community.

Emory is in a far better place today because of President Wagner's vision and passion for the welfare of all its stakeholders. However, his work is not done. We must use this experience to foster and promote open and honest communication throughout the university and to effect positive change for the greater good of the Emory community. We must also allow him to return to the many issues that require his guidance and governance as well as our input and involvement. For Emory's sake, let us help each other move forward.

Isabel Garcia 99L

Beverly Dew Allen 68C
J. David Allen 67C 70D 75DR
Ellen Agnor Bailey 63C 87B
James H. Bailey 67OX 69C
Gerald C. Becham 63G
Clifford A. Bell 46OX 50C
Matthew S. Biggerstaff 01 OX03 C 06PH
Christopher Conrad Bly 99C 02L
W. Moses Bond 59C
Hal Newton Brady III 64T 84T
Thomas C. Brodnax 65OX 68C
Warren I. Brook 70OX 72B
William A. Brosius 85B

Laura Durudogan 85C

Kitty F. MacFarlane 81N 92N 92PH
Renelda E. Mack 83C
Roy Leonard Martino 72C 76M
Michael H. McDougald 52C
Paul M. McLarty, Jr. 63C 66L
Rebecca Hodges McQueen 76C 79PH
William R. Newton 75C 76G
Marjorie J. Nunn 61C
Chinonyerem Okezie 98OX 00C
George D. Overend 64C
Tommy L. Owens 590X 61C 65D
Marianna R. Patterson 61C
Solon P. Patterson 57B 58B

Dirk L. Brown 90B

William Virgil Brown 580X 60C Barbara Stephenson Bruner 56M

Susan A. Cahoon 68C Lisa M. Carlson 93PH

Kim Ann Chenevey 020X 04B C. Edward Cloaninger III 910X 93C

William B. Cody Halli D. Cohn 90L

Brent Aaron Conway 06N Lihong L. D'Angelo 89G Michele M. Davis 87C Aditi Desai 13C

William L. Dobes, Jr. 65C 69M 70MR

James L. Ferman, Jr. 65B

Andrea Joy Casson Galiano 88B 93B

Sharon Stokes Garrison 75G Charles Benjamin Ginden 55C Gordon Clifton Goodgame, Sr. 58T

James A. Granade, Jr. 68D Vicki Kaplan Haberman 81C Amber Winsberg Handman 95C Anne Chrisman Hanse 54G 60D

William Marvin Hardy III 610X 63C 66L

John R. Harris 79B 79L Martha B. Hastings 59T Kathleen Ellis Hedrick 89B Marian K. Heilbrun 75G Scott Charles Hightower 03B

Mary S. Hinkel 74G

Marcie Sue Hirshberg 85N G. Wildridge Holden 72B Calista Ann Hooper 70C 72N

Susan Hoy 74L

W. Stell Huie 52C 53L

Paul P. Jackson, Jr. 820X 84B

Ben F. Johnson III 65C

Nina Sherman Johnston 80C Carlton E. Joyce 86C 89L Larry E. Kaminsky 61B Mary D. Lambert 81N Sally T. Lehr 65N 76N Sally Evans Lockwood 78L W. Jefferson Pendergrast, Jr. 72M 78MR 81MR

Robert G. Pennington 740X 76C 81B 81L

Alexandra Jeannette Pill 13C Matthew Steven Poliner 09C 12L

J. Davidson Porter 85C Madison Parks Prickett 01T Pamela C. Pryor 69C 70G

Warren W. Quillian II 58C 61M 63MR

Suhayl Rafeedie 64D

Walker L. Ray 62C 65M 68MR Barbara Alford Reed 57N 79N Philip Syng Reese 66C 76B 76L

William G. Rice 86G

Wendy Rosenberg-Nadel 82C Catherine E. Rudder 69C Brian Thorpe Rutter 05B Ioel Scott Saferstein 92C

Patricia Jo Schiff 80A 81A 88M 91MR

W. Shain Schley, Sr. 62C 66M

Sharon Cathleen Semmens 80C 80G

J. Ben Shapiro 64C 67L Jordan Samuel Silton 10B

Carter Smith, Jr. 56C 60M 66MR

Lynda Elaine Smith 86B Cubbedge Snow, Jr. 51C Christian Dell Sobon 93C Richard R. Souviron 58C 60D Betty Marie Stewart 52N M. Barry Strudwick 75C

Olan Wytch Stubbs 52C 55T 66M 66MR

Ramon A. Suarez 74C 78M 82MR

Eric J. Tanenblatt 88C Mitchell A. Tanzman 81C Cameron Proffitt Taylor 90C

Charles H. Tisdale 72L Kathy Tomajko 79G

Isam G. Mohammed Vaid 930X 95C 99PH

Arthur M. Vinson 660X 68C Paula Greenfield Washington 95G

Amy Levin Weil 77C 81L Mary R. Williams 82C

Marvin Robert Winter 780X 80C 84D

Juliana M. Winters 77L